Guess the URL
November 6, 2008
The small text below “as real as it gets” says download at www.software.UNKNOWN.com. I had a hunch that the unknown text was “cs4″, but I had to make sure.
Ascertaining whether or not I was right simply involved attempting to replicate the final result (the mystery text) using what I thought was the text would be. To start off, a similar font and font size was applied to a new text layer containing “www.software.cs4.com”. This layer was then scaled down.
The original text and the simulation text were then scaled upwards.
Already it was evident that the unknown text was indeed “cs4″. The application of a few filters to this one image further confirmed my hypothesis.
Filter > Stylize > Find Edges
Filter > Stylize > Torn Edges
Image > Adjustments > Thresholds
Unfortunately, http://www.software.cs4.com/ does not exist.
Update: A commenter has found a 1200 x 750 version of the original image and revealed that I was wrong. Someone on Digg managed to locate what seems to be the original post on Flickr. The missing text wasn’t cs4, but rather asli. The link, http://www.software-asli.com/ , leads to a software vendor. So this wasn’t made by Adobe after all.





November 6, 2008 at 7:33 pm
[...] UPDATE No leads here, but someone else was curious: Guess the URL [...]
November 6, 2008 at 9:02 pm
Try http://www.software.csfour.com/
November 7, 2008 at 4:46 am
[...] know the original source, and the URL at the bottom right corner is to blurry to read, but someone tries to find out. I’d love a high res version for my wallpaper, [...]
November 7, 2008 at 5:01 am
Better image here :
http://mi3ch.livejournal.com/1430330.html?style=mi …
the website cited is : http://www.software-asli.com
November 7, 2008 at 5:41 am
The URL reads:
www. software-asli .com
seems to be some warez site though, that’s why I split the URL up.
Bigger version:
http://pics.livejournal.com/mi3ch/pic/007fdr5s
November 7, 2008 at 11:27 am
it looks like software.cs4.com and is probably just a fake link for the page.
November 27, 2008 at 11:49 pm
Yes I agree with you!
December 29, 2008 at 9:44 am
vszytzytkxojacncwell, hi admin adn people nice forum indeed. how’s life? hope it’s introduce branch